Learning the hard way


Last night, I was so focused on my work that I didn’t notice my coffee cup steadily leaning over, and subsequently pouring itself onto my keyboard. When the “fizzlePOP!” sound happened, accompanied by the untimely demise of everything I have created in the last 3 years, all I could do is stare in abject horror at the black screen.
I looked down to my lap and it was also covered in coffee. Somewhere in the back of my mind I thought “Wow. I can’t believe I was so focused I didn’t even feel it pouring down my leg”.
In slow-motion, I jumped up and turned the laptop upside down on my coffee table, hoping to drain it and minimize the damage. Drain it is an understatement… the coffee GLUGGED out of my poor deceased laptop, all over the table, which now was quite literally my ‘coffee table’.
I am left in the aftermath of my personal tragedy, feeling very much like the victim of a house fire. The place where I have now lived for the last three years is gone, as are all the memories within it. Letters, stories, pictures… about a million lists, story ideas, drafts of letters… I could go on and on.
The only things I had thought were important enough to back up on a little flash drive, were my works-in-progress. A paranormal novel I am working on, and a memoir piece. Somehow, the second book in my Rocket Girl series didn’t make it onto the flash drive. I was four chapters in.
I am not sure when or how I’ll be able to replace the laptop… but when I do, I promise you, I will back up everything.

Daily.

8 comments on “Learning the hard way

  1. Pamela Denton says:

    I’m sooooo sorry to hear that. I know how devestated you must feel. Just remember that God works in mysterious ways and be open to the good that can come out of this.

    Love you,
    Pam

  2. Edain Duguay says:

    Awww…sorry to hear this, hun. What a nightmare! 😦

    I know you say you will back up in future but let me give you a little advice, if I may. Might I suggest that you do as I do?

    Every week I back EVERYTHING up on an external hard drive. Once a month, I back up on rewritable disc and every time I finish a chapter I print out a hard copy. You can never be too careful and, as you are now finding out, it is very hard to get those exact and brilliant words back again.

    So sorry for your loss but don’t let it bring you down, try to stay positive.

    Blessings to your Hearth,

    Edain

    • Thank you Edain, it really was awful, but turned out to be not quite the disaster it seemed to be. I Will definitely follow your lead with the diligent backing up, and thank you again for the support 🙂
      Michelle

  3. Lisa says:

    Oh, no! I hope that just maybe you can salvage more than it seems at first. 😦

    I don’t back things up as well as I should, either.

    Sending good thoughts your way today.

    ~ Lisa

  4. barrierlife says:

    This happened to me when I was…17? I lost, I think, 41 finished poems.
    And again, a couple years later, to the tune of about 20,000 words.
    I don’t learn from my mistakes.
    I know how you feel.
    I’d give you a hug if I could.

    • 41!! How devastating! Don’t you normally post everything online? Or is that a practice you started after the accident?
      You should really email yourself your finished work, or works in progress in addition to back-ups. (I do that, but often forget…. I won’t be forgetting anytime soon though!!

Leave a Reply

