First piece being published!


I went to a reading on Thursday night for The Muse, where I take a memoir writing class.  My instructor, Tom Robotham, gave me a beautiful introduction, and I read an excerpt from the memoir I am working on, titled M.o.M. – Memories of Madness.

The audience was wonderful. They gasped when I shocked them, snickered when I amused them, held their breath when I engaged them in the story, and when I finished and looked up from the podium, I saw mouths hanging open, and heard applause erupt so loudly I blushed. I felt so good after the reading, feeling validation for spending my time typing away, spinning tales and retelling potent memories. It truly was a wonderful evening. The rest of the readers that night were amazing – each with their own distinct style and voice, each with an incredible story to tell.

When I woke up the next morning, I had a sense of peace wash over me. Life is good. I feel like I am finally in a place I fit into. I quickly fire an email off to Tom, thanking him for the beautiful introduction. When I received his response I was both shocked and thrilled. In one sentence, the world of a writer that I have fostered in my mind solidified.

“By the way, would you mind if I publish a portion of your memoir on TReehouse?”

TReehouse is an online literary magazine – Tom is the editor-in-chief.

Is there really any better news a writer can receive?

I will post an update as soon as I know the publishing date.

7 comments on “First piece being published!

  1. Edain Duguay says:

    Excellent, congratulations!

    There really is nothing like that feeling of validation for all the hard work, is there?

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    Congratulations, Michelle!! I love how your feeling of peace and well-being seemed to lead to (rather than come from) the publication news. It must have been so rewarding to see and feel the audience’s reaction to your reading.

    I’ll be eagerly awaiting more details about when/where to read it!
    Hugs,
    Lisa

  3. Barbara M says:

    Congratulations Michelle!! So exciting to hear that you’re being published and that everything is falling to place with the store opening!! Can’t wait for an opportunity to read your memoir when it is available 🙂

  4. Adventuress says:

    Oh … oh … oh big big big yay!

    I mean, I always knew it would happen, but it’s HAPPENED. whoot.

    From far away I’m throwing arms around ya…

    ~ali

  5. […] This post was picked up from Michelle’s blog, Magical Things. Beautiful Things. […]

Leave a Reply

