Newtown


In the wake of the horrific shooting that claimed the lives of so many this morning in Newtown, CT, as I sit and feel the pain and the loss that the world has endured, I tried to wrap my head around what I would say to the girls if and when the subject comes up. I saw this quote by Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers) and knew that this was the direction I would go with our conversation:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of “disaster,” I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.”

And then I realized that I needed those words just as much as they would. So I thought maybe you all did, too.

Newton CT ribbon

7 comments on “Newtown

  1. Yes, this quote has helped me since i read your tweet. Thank you for sharing this blog. I tried to explan to my 5 year old. Not sure she understands, not sure I want her to. She just wants me not to cry anymore, I think. Hugs to you & your girls & everyone in the world, actually. God bless.

  2. mittensmorgul says:

    I’m trying to focus on all the people who were there on the scene to help. The fire and police who put their own lives on the line every day to keep the rest of us safe, the teachers who kept their classes calm and safe while the world went crazy around them, and every parent who waited anxiously for their own children to get home from school today, even thousands of miles away from Connecticut. It’s impossible to understand this kind of tragedy, but the world is a better, saner place for all the helpers. Thanks for posting that quote.

  3. There’s no easy way to talk with children about tragedy. As a school counselor, I’ve had to help kids deal with loss many times, but fortunately, nothing as horrible as what happened in Newtown today. My heart goes out to the families who lost loved ones, both children and adults. My prayers are also with the staff at Sandy Hook Elementary School, and at other schools serving the siblings and former students of those who died. I cannot imagine the pain and confusion they are suffering. I’m grateful for all the helpers out there, trying to keep everyone safe and comforting them as they come to terms with this horrible tragedy.

    Paula Huffman

  4. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as
    with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you
    modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing,
    it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

