11-11-11


The first time I saw this picture, it stopped me. I mean flat-out stop everything – including breathing – and simply stare. Tears sprang to my eyes and I keenly felt the loss of the surviving soldier, and then was overwhelmed with gratitude for that sacrifice.

Every time I sit at my laptop and begin to write I hope that I can accomplish in words what this artist did in his picture.

Yet sometimes there are no words to convey the thoughts and emotions that pass through me on a day like today. No words strong enough, potent enough.

It has occurred to me though, that it is no small coincidence that Veterans Day comes so close to Thanksgiving Day.

I am thankful.

I will remember.

2 comments on “11-11-11

  1. Simply stated. Yet so powerful.

  2. Bless you, child. For being so appreciative.

Leave a comment